The List

People make lists for all sort of reasons: packing lists to make sure nothing is forgotten on a trip, shopping lists to keep from having to make that unwanted trip back to the market, Amazon wish lists so someone can pay for that Breaking Bad complete Blu-ray.

I made myself a unique list, which I have been striving to complete since 2003. I never thought I would make one of those cliche what-I’m-going-to-do-when-I-get-back-home lists, until a few friends of mine almost got killed while making a resupply run to one of our outposts in downtown Baghdad.

That wake up call finally forced me to sit down on my cot one night and jot down a few goals I wanted to achieve (in no particular order) when I got home.

  1. Get Married

  2. Buy a house

  3. Finish college

  4. Get a black belt in a martial art

  5. Drive a Ferrari

 

Okay, 4 and 5 sound pretty cheesy but I was 24 dude.

I returned home on December 24th, 2003 and immediately set my sights on working towards completing my list. Little did I know that my list would pan out in unexpected ways.

I have never driven a Ferrari. I guess I could just go to one of those cheesy tourist places where they will let you rent one out with a jacked up clutch from the last sorry sack that rented it. No thanks. I’ll just wait until one of my friends buy one. Now I need to find a rich friend.

I did get a black belt in a martial art. I finally got released from active duty around early February of 2004. It was too late for me to enroll for the Spring semester at my college so I basically had nothing to do. I spent the first few months just sitting around at home. I didn’t want to be around people at the time. Being in a large crowd of people without my battle buddies around and not being able to carry a weapon made me feel uneasy for some reason. It was the first time I was truly alone for over a year.

One day I finally had enough of being isolated so I decided to check out some local martial arts places in my area. After a few visits I finally stumbled upon a place where everyone was really nice and welcoming. I ending up practicing there until this day, though not as often as I would like.

I did manage to finish college. Only took me 6 years for a useless degree in Sociology. Studying how people’s behaviors are influenced by socioeconomic factors doesn’t really say “I can really work the shit out of this TPS report” to any employer out there. After a few shitty jobs later I manage to find a good one.

I’m still renting. House hunting has been a challenge. The VA loan helps but it doesn’t mean much when the home prices are way out of my range. To be continued here.

I’m not married yet, but I will be this Friday. Funny how things turn out. I would have never meet my future wife if it wasn’t for my list. I met her one day while I was visiting my old dojo, while I was in town. You see, because of my shitty degree I ended up having to take a job working for a buddy of mine in Arizona. I would come back home once a month to visit some friends and practice at my dojo, where I met her by chance.

Fate or coincidence, who knows. Though maybe I can thank that insurgent who took a chance and failed at trying to kill my friends.

So thanks a lot, fuck face.

Leave a comment